Leadership Luminary Award

The Leadership Luminary Award of the Radiology Leadership Institute is intended to recognize and celebrate the lifetime achievements of professionals who have devoted the majority of their professional career to the science or practice of radiology or radiation oncology, embodying both leadership and innovation in their actions and legacy.

The Leadership Luminary Award nomination deadline has been EXTENDED to Monday March 6th.


Award Criteria

Candidates for the RLI Leadership Luminary Award must have shown:

  • Visionary Leadership: Serving as a thought leader, or leader by example while demonstrating outstanding citizenship in a major role in radiology, medicine or other activities that benefit the community or society at large.
  • Motivation/Inspirational Leadership: Demonstrating a passion and confidence in setting and achieving the goals that the team/organization has outlined; leads by example and deeds as well as words.
  • Integrity: Showing their commitment to principled and morally framed leadership.
  • Responsibility: Demonstrating/exhibiting unwavering commitment to advancing the organizations and activities with which they are charged, advancing them to a greater level.
  • Commitment to the next generation: Demonstrating their passion and commitment to and through effective mentoring in guiding the next generation
  • Creativity: Embodying both innovation and vision in their leadership style and deliverables that benefit radiology, the community of medicine and society; creating a vision that creates and effects change for the greater good.
  • Contributions: Evidenced by the betterment of radiology or the larger community through their objective and quantifiable professional and leadership achievements.


Professionals (physicians and non-physicians) working in the field of radiology are eligible if they:

  • Are a current ACR member (active or retired)
  • have demonstrated a high level of leadership with at least 15 years of sustained excellence (post-training)
  • have exhibited the seven (7) award criteria above
  • While not required, specific involvement in the RLI as faculty or participant, is strongly encouraged.

*Please note that current RLI Board members cannot be nominated for the award.

Nomination Guidelines

  • Self-nomination is not permitted
  • Due to potential conflict of interest, current members of the RLI Board cannot nominate nor write letters of recommendation for this award
  • Current members of the Board of Chancellors cannot submit nominations nor write letters of recommendation for the award.

Nomination Requirements

All submissions are required to include:

  • One (1) nomination letter (up to two pages) which must outline and summarize how the nominee has shown/exhibited the seven (7) award criteria
  • One (1) letter of recommendation (up to two pages)
  • Current CV that must provide adequate information regarding the candidate’s leadership positions, accomplishments, as well as his/her involvement with the RLI.

Note: at least one of the letters should be from an individual who is not a member of the nominee’s current department, practice, or workplace.


Awardees will receive:

  • Complimentary registration for 2023 RLI Summit, September 29 - October 1, Boston Seaport Hotel
  • Travel and lodging for winner and a guest to the RLI Summit Awards Dinner
  • Recognition at the RLI Summit Awards Dinner
  • Recognition in ACR publication

The Leadership Luminary Award nomination deadline has been EXTENDED to Monday March 6th.

Leadership Luminary Honorees

Cynthia Sherry, MD, MMM, FACR, FACPE

2022 Honoree
Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas

Jonathon S. Lewin, MD, FACR

2017 Honoree

Anne C. Roberts, MD, FACR

2017 Honoree

E. Stephen Amis Jr., MD, FACR

2016 Honorees

Glendon G. Cox, MD, MBA, MHSA

2016 Honorees

Leonard Berlin, MD, FACR

2015 Honoree

Bruce J. Hillman, MD, FACR

2015 Honoree

Sarah S. Donaldson, MD, FACR

2014 Honoree

David C. Levin, MD, FACR

2014 Honoree

Daniel H. Johnson Jr., MD

2013 Honoree

Alexander R. Margulis, MD, DSc (h.c. mult.)

2013 Honoree

Harvey L. Neiman, MD, FACR

2012 Honoree

James H. Thrall, MD, FACR

2012 Honoree

Questions? Email RLI@acr.org.