Richard L. Morin, PhD, Fellowship in Medical Physics

The ACR is proud to support the development of young medical physicists through its Richard L. Morin, PhD Fellowship. The Richard L. Morin, PhD Fellowship in Medical Physics provides one or two medical physics residents the opportunity for hands-on experience with the American College of Radiology. Morin fellows will interact with College staff and gain governance experience with fully funded attendance of the 2025 ACR Annual Meeting.

In addition, the ACR will fully fund one week in Reston, VA in the Fall of 2024, during which the Fellow(s) will meet College staff across departments and projects. Fellows will earn a stipend of $500 paid upon publication of an article or completion of a project.

Eligibility requirements:

  • Candidates must be members of the ACR to be considered. ACR membership for those enrolled in CAMPEP-accredited residency programs is free.
  • Candidates must be currently enrolled in a CAMPEP-accredited medical physics residency program.
  • Candidates must be completing at least one year of clinical training in mid-2024 and must have at least one more year left to complete their program (e.g., candidates in 2+1 programs may apply for the RLM Fellowship in their first or second year of clinical training).

How to Apply

Applications for the 2024 Morin Fellowship are now closed.

Your application must include:

  • Name, contact, program, and some other basic information (in application form)
  • Personal statement describing how this fellowship relates to your career goals. Not to exceed 500 words (in application form).
  • Prior experiences (activities, courses, and jobs) that have best prepared you for this fellowship. Not to exceed 300 words (in application form).
  • Why you are applying for this fellowship and what you hope to gain from it. Not to exceed 300 words (in application form).
  • Current CV
  • Support of the extracurricular requirements of the Fellowship from your program director or department chair—by submitting an application you are attesting that your Program Director is aware and supportive of the extracurricular requirements of this award.
  • Two letters of reference, which should be submitted directly using the upload portal


Morin Fellows in Medical Physics

  Colin Schaeffer, PhD
Henry Ford Health
  Zahra Razi, PhD
University of New Mexico
 Emily Thompson, PhD Emily Thompson, PhD
The University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX
Mercy Akerele, PhD Mercy Akerele, PhD
University of Florida, Gainesville, FL
  Shengwen (Sean) Deng, PhD
University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center
  Ana Dieguez, MS
Oregon Health and Science University

 Headshot of Dr. Kirby

Krystal Kirby, PhD
Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN

 Headshot of Dr. Sanders Jeremiah W. Sanders, PhD
University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Ctr., Houston, TX

Crystal A. Green, PhD
Duke University Health System, Durham, NC

  Marthony Robins, PhD
The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH
   Ashley E. Rubinstein, PhD
UTHealth McGovern Medical School, Houston, TX