James M. Moorefield, MD, Fellowship in Economics & Health Policy

The James M. Moorefield, MD, Economics Fellowship, sponsored by the ACR Economics & Health Policy Department, provides radiology residents with direct exposure to the College’s economic activities. The Economics & HP department is responsible for all ACR activities involving reimbursement and health policy issues that affect the practice of radiology, radiation oncology, interventional radiology, and medical physics. 

Applications will be accepted beginning September 1, 2023 through December 8, 2023


Applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Third- and fourth-year resident and fellow.
    • Second-year residents are considered if they become third-year residents before the selection process is complete. At the time of submission of the application, you must at least be a second-year resident. 

How to Apply

Please submit your applications no later than December 8, 2023 and include:

  1. Application form
  2. Current CV
  3. Letter of recommendation from program director or department chair

Email complete applications to Brittney Spitz, Economic Policy Coordinator. 

Submit now»

Responsibilities of the Fellow

The time of the two-week fellowship will be arranged with a fellow and their program director to accommodate the training schedule. The fellow will receive a $750 stipend after completing the fellowship. Travel and living expenses during the fellowship will be paid by the ACR. 

Tasks may be assigned to the fellow; and the fellow may be asked, when appropriate, to assume work duties that will contribute to the Economics and Health Policy department. 

The fellow will be expected to complete an evaluation and write an article describing their experience for submission to the Journal of the American College of Radiology (JACR) or ACR Bulletin. 

Fellow Selection

The ACR Economic Fellowship Review Committee will review all applications and select a candidate. Applicants will be notified by email of the committee’s decision.  

For questions about this fellowship, please contact:

Brittney Spitz
(800) 227-5463 ,ext. 4969

Past Fellows

2023 - Salman Eraj
2020 - Kevin Wang, MD
2019 - Erin Taylor, MD
2018 - Emir S. Sandhu, MD
2018 - Zachary Jeng, MD
2018 - Ryan Jones, MD
2018 - Cindy Yuan, MD
2017 - Michael Booker, MD
2017 - Magda Rizer, DO
2017 - Jeffrey Stevens, MD
2016 - Naiim Ali, MD
2016 - Andew J. Degnan, MD
2015 - Melissa Chen, MD
2015 - Colin Segovis, MD, PhD
2015 - Alexander B. King, MD
2014 - Margaret Fleming, MD
2013 - Lukasz S. Babiarz, MD
2013 - Ashley K. Lotfipour, MD
2012 - Arvin Bagherpour, MD
2012 - Ammar Sarwar, MD
2011 - Stephen Chang, MD
2011 - Kurt Schoppe, MD
2010 - Sheela Agarwal, MD
2009 - Amy Kao, MD
2008 - Scott Harrison Ambruster, MD
2008 - Linda Chan, MD
2008 - Franklin Liu, MD
2007 - Dawn Hastreiter, MD
2007 - Charles Bowkley, MD
2007 - Adam Talenfield, MD
2006 - Michael H. Wittner, MD
2006 - Joshua L. Rosebrook, MD
2006 - Bryan Berkey, MD
2005 - W. Shawn Conwell, MD
2005 - Jonathan Paul Gordon, MD
2005 - Felix Lee Lin, MD
2004 - Ryan K. Lee, MD
2004 - Jeremy L. Friese, MD
2004 - Alexandru C. Bageac, MD
2003 - Timothy A. Crummy, MD
2003 - Sanjay K. Shetty, MD