February 24, 2021

Radiology Has New Representation at the RUC

Ezequiel Silva III, MD, FACR, has been named the new Chair of the American Medical Association/Relative Value Scale Update Committee (AMA/RUC). In light of this recent announcement, the American College of Radiology® (ACR®) is sharing additional changes to radiology representation at the RUC.

William Donovan, MD, MPH, FACR, is the Radiology RUC Representative, a position previously held by Dr. Silva. Donovan is a neuroradiologist practicing in Norwich, Connecticut, and has served as the Radiology Alternate RUC Representative since 2011. Donovan is also a former RUC Advisor for the American Society of Neuroradiology.

Kurt Schoppe, MD, is the new Radiology Alternate RUC Representative. A radiologist practicing in Fort Worth, Texas, Schoppe started his “RUC career” with the ACR in 2013 as the ACR Alternate RUC Advisor, becoming the ACR RUC Advisor in 2016. He is also the Chair of the ACR Economics Committee on Reimbursement.

Lauren Golding, MD, is the new ACR RUC Advisor. Golding is a radiologist practicing in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, specializing in pediatric radiology and breast imaging. She has served as the ACR Alternate RUC Advisor since 2018 and is also active within the College as Chair of the Commission on Ultrasound and the MACRA Committee.

Andrew Moriarity, MD, is the ACR Alternate RUC Advisor. He practices in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Moriarity has consistently attended RUC meetings as a guest of the ACR since 2017, and having assisted with numerous presentations in front of the RUC Panel, he is well prepared for the Alternate Advisor role. He also serves as the current YPS member of the ACR Board of Chancellors.

These radiologists have been valuable members of the RUC process for years, and their contributions are immeasurable. Their nominations and transitions into these roles come highly supported by ACR CEO William Thorwarth Jr., MD, FACR, and Gregory Nicola, MD, Chair of the ACR Commission on Economics.

Please join the ACR in congratulating Drs. Silva, Donovan, Schoppe, Golding and Moriarity.