May 21, 2021

ACR 2021 Resident and Fellow Section (RFS) Meeting Recap

By Natasha Monga, MD

The ACR Resident and Fellow Section (RFS) was thrilled to return to annual meeting programming at ACR 2021. With much anticipation, residents, fellows and medical students had the opportunity to learn from leaders in the field on topics ranging from advocacy, launching your career, AI and informatics as well as diversity, equity and inclusion.

The meeting kicked off with a discussion on national-level advocacy by David Youmans, MD, who highlighted the work of the Radiology Advocacy Network, including successful lobbying of Congress to provide relief from Medicare payment reductions in re-evaluation of E/M codes. This was followed by a presentation on state-level advocacy by Taj Kattapuram, MD, who discussed meeting with lawmakers through the Colorado Radiological Society and the importance of radiologists, trainees and medical students getting involved in their state societies to affect change for the future of the specialty.

Next, Larry Muroff, MD, FACR, Melissa Davis, MD, and Ivan DeQuesada II, MD, spoke on launching your career. Dr. Muroff addressed specifics on private-practice contracts and negotiations, Dr. Davis highlighted the personal decision-making process and benefits of an MBA, and Dr. DeQuesada discussed the practicalities of researching, interviewing and securing your first job in the profession.

William W. Boonn, MD, and Judy Gichoya, MD, led the next segment discussing careers in informatics and AI. Dr. Boonn advised attendees on exploring a career in informatics in the private sector and becoming an entrepreneur, drawing from his personal experience helping launch a business. Dr. Gichoya spoke to her personal experiences in a fulfilling career in informatics at an academic institution.

Rounding out the day, Judy Yee, MD, FACR, and Johnson Lightfoote, MD, FACR, led a data-driven discussion on health disparities, health equity and the current state of diversity in the fields of radiology and radiation oncology. These leaders are implementing strategies to mitigate health disparities and provide resources to promote diversity and inclusion in the radiological subspecialties.

At the conclusion of the meeting, the RFS Executive Committee, Nominating Committee and Intersociety Liaisons representatives for 2021–2022 were announced:

2021–2022 RFS Executive Committee

Chair — Natasha Monga, MD
Vice Chair — Yasha Gupta, MD
Immediate Past Chair — Jamaal Benjamin, MD, PhD
AMA Delegate/Advocacy Liaison — Alisha Rathi, MD
Communications Liaison — Kirang Patel, MD
Education Liaison — Brianna Vey, MD
Secretary — Juan Guerrero-Calderon, MD
Radiation Oncology Representative — Aaron Bush, MD

2021–2022 RFS Nominating Committee

Eastern States Representative — Shweta Nelluri, MD
Central States Representative — Heba Albasha, MD
Western States Representative — Melina Hosseiny, MD

Member-in-Training Intersociety Committee Representatives (Appointed)

Lynn Della Grotta, MD
Akriti Khanna, MD