November 07, 2023

American College of Radiology Announces 2024 Honorees

Recipients to be recognized during ACR 2024 Annual Meeting


The American College of Radiology® (ACR®) Board of Chancellors (BOC) named three Gold Medalists, one Honorary Fellow recipient and a Distinguished Achievement awardee, in recognition of their extraordinary contributions to the field of radiology and outstanding service to the ACR. Honorees will be recognized during the ACR 2024 Annual Meeting, April 13–17.

The following individuals will receive the ACR Gold Medal:

• Paul Ellenbogen, MD, FACR, is a past chair of the ACR Board of Chancellors and served on the Council Steering Committee and Board of Chancellors for 17 consecutive years. He created the ACR Commission for Women and Diversity in 2014 with input from the American Association for Women in Radiology and approval from the BOC.
• Geraldine McGinty, MD, MBA, FACR, became the first woman to be elected chair of the ACR Board of Chancellors in 2018. The senior associate dean for clinical affairs at Weill Cornell Medicine, she is also a past chair of the ACR Commission on Economics.
• Elizabeth Patterson, MD, FACR, is a past chair of the Special Population Committee of the American College of Radiology Imaging Network and served as the chair of the Mammography Quality Standards Act (MQSA) Advisory Committee under the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Hiroshi Onishi, MD, PhD, of Japan, will receive an ACR Honorary Fellowship. He is the director of the departments of radiation oncology and diagnostic radiology at the University of Yamanashi Hospital. He also serves as the deputy dean and a professor at the University of Yamanashi, Faculty of Medicine. He will become the president of the Japanese Society for Radiation Oncology in 2024.

The ACR Distinguished Achievement Award is awarded posthumously to Amanda Crowell Itliong. Ms. Crowell Itliong, a dedicated cancer and patient advocate who served on the ACR Commission on Patient- and Family-Centered Care (CPFCC), died May 6, following a courageous battle with ovarian cancer. She was the first patient in the history of ACR to serve as co-chair of any committee and the first and only patient to present at an ACR Grand Rounds.