May 12, 2022

ACR Radiology Leadership Institute Announces 2022 Leadership Awards

Individuals will be honored at the RLI Summit in September


The American College of Radiology® (ACR®) Radiology Leadership Institute® (RLI) announced the recipients of its annual leadership awards at ACR 2022®, the annual meeting of the College.

Since the RLI’s inception in 2012, more than 9,000 radiologists have participated in its leadership and professional development training, gaining essential non-clinical skills to thrive in today’s complex and every-changing healthcare landscape. In all, the RLI announced the recipients of three awards, including the Leadership Luminary Award, its highest honor.

“The RLI provides leadership training for radiologists at all career levels. It’s important to recognize both our future leaders as well as those leaders whose lifetime achievements and contributions have made a lasting impact on the field of radiology,” said William T. Thorwarth Jr., MD, FACR, CEO of ACR.

The RLI Emerging Leader Award recognizes residents or fellows who have made a significant contribution to their institutions and/or the field of radiology while also exhibiting the potential to be future leaders in the field.

The 2022 Emerging Leader Award recipients are:
• Aaron F. Bush, MD | Mayo Clinic
• Amina Farooq, MD | Mather Hospital/Northwell
• Aubrey Frazzitta, MD | University of Arizona
• Robert Gray Jr., DO | Temple University Hospital
• Mohammed Ali Ismail, DO | The Ohio State University
• Karim Nasra, MD | Ascension Providence / Michigan State University College of Human Medicine
• Lola Oladini, MD, MBA | Stanford Health Care
• Kirang Patel, MD | University of Missouri at Kansas City
• Michelle M. Shnayder-Adams, MD, MPH | University of Michigan


The RLI Impact in Leadership Award recognizes individuals whose participation in an RLI course or program was integral to the successful completion of specific projects or initiatives at their practices or institutions.

The 2022 Impact in Leadership Award recipients are:

• Vivek Masson, MD, DABR | CarePoint Health
• Andrew K. Moriarity, MD | Advanced Radiology Services, PC

The RLI Leadership Luminary Award recognizes and celebrates the lifetime achievements of a radiologist who has devoted the majority of their professional career to the field.

The 2022 recipient of the Luminary Award is Cynthia Sherry, MD, FACR, FACPE, MMM, CPE, Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas. Dr. Sherry was a founding chair of RLI and served as its medical director.

“The Luminary Award celebrates those who embody the RLI values of leadership and innovation and whose achievements have had a significant impact on the field of radiology during the course of their career,” said Frank Lexa, MD, MBA, FACR, Chief Medical Officer of the RLI. “Dr. Sherry helped to found the RLI and then led it for the first three years of its existence. As we celebrate our tenth anniversary, it is fitting that we recognize her important contributions and achievements.”

The recipients will be honored at the RLI Summit in September.