May 18, 2021

First African American Elected President of the ACR

American College of Radiology Introduces New Officers during ACR Annual Meeting

Beverly Coleman
New ACR President Beverly G. Coleman,

Internationally renowned radiologist and ultrasound expert Beverly G. Coleman, MD, FACR, was elected president of the American College of Radiology® (ACR®) during the ACR 2021 annual meeting. Coleman is the first African-American to be elected president in the nearly 100-year history of the ACR. James V. Rawson, MD, FACR, was elected ACR vice president. Amy Kotsenas, MD, FACR, was elected ACR Council speaker for a two-year term.

“There is no greater accomplishment in my very lengthy academic radiology career than the ascension to the position of President of the American College of Radiology. I am proud to take this historic step and I look forward to continuing to work with my colleagues at ACR to make radiologic care better for those we serve,” said Coleman.

Coleman is the first director of fetal imaging at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia Center for Fetal Diagnosis and Treatment and the inaugural holder of the Beverly Gilbert Coleman Endowed Chair in Fetal Imaging. She served on the ACR Board of Chancellors as the chair of the ACR Commission on Ultrasound from 2014 to 2020. Coleman previously served as the ACR liaison to the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine Board of Governors. She is a former president of the Society of Radiologists in Ultrasound and chair of the National Medical Association Section on Radiology and Radiation Oncology. Coleman also is a member of the American Association of Women Radiologists.

“Dr. Coleman is an inspiring leader who has served with distinction in her many ACR, academic and professional roles,” said William T. Thorwarth Jr., MD, FACR, chief executive officer of the ACR. “We look forward to her continued exemplary leadership in her role as ACR president.”

Vice President James V. Rawson, MD, FACR

Rawson is radiology vice chair of operations and special projects, and director of the Radiology Outcomes Research Institute at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston. He most recently served as secretary-treasurer of the ACR Board of Chancellors and was previously chair of the ACR Commission on Patient and Family Centered Care.

Council Speaker Amy Kotsenas, MD, FACR

Kotsenas previously served as ACR Council vice speaker and is the ACR Council Steering Committee liaison to the ACR Data Science Institute. Kotsenas is an associate professor of radiology and a board-certified neuroradiologist and clinical informaticist at the Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota.

Secretary Treasurer Dana H. Smetherman, MD, MPH, MBA, FACR

Dana H. Smetherman, MD, MPH, MBA, FACR, was elected to a two-year term. She is chair of the Department of Radiology and associate medical director for the medical specialties at Ochsner Medical Center in New Orleans. Smetherman has served as president of the Radiological Society of Louisiana, board member for the National Accrediting Program of Breast Centers, advisor to the American Medical Association Current Procedural Terminology (CPT®) Panel and as a director on the Ochsner Health Board.

ACR Council Vice Speaker Timothy A. Crummy, MD, FACR

Timothy A. Crummy, MD, FACR, also was elected to a two-year term. He is associate medical director of SSM Health St. Mary’s Hospital in Madison, Wisconsin, and partner in Madison Radiologists, S.C. Crummy served as a member of the ACR Council Steering Committee.

The new officers will assume their roles at the conclusion of the virtual ACR 2021 annual meeting May 18.