May 18, 2020

Howard B. Fleishon, MD, MMM, FACR Announced Chair of the ACR Board of Chancellors

American College of Radiology Introduces New Officers during ACR 2020

The American College of Radiology® (ACR®) announced Howard B. Fleishon, MD, MMM, FACR as chair of the ACR Board of Chancellors (BOC). Jacqueline A. Bello, MD, FACR, will serve as vice chair, Geraldine B. McGinty, MD, MBA, FACR, will serve as president and Alexander M. Norbash, MD, MS, FACR will serve as vice president. The new officers will take office immediately following the ACR 2020 Meeting, held entirely online.

“Dr. Fleishon is a long-standing advocate for radiology, with extensive government relations and policy experience in addition to his clinical leadership as chief of radiology services at Emory Johns Creek Hospital in Georgia,” said William T. Thorwarth Jr., MD, FACR, chief executive officer of the ACR. “It has been a pleasure working with him for the past two years as vice chair, and I know he will continue to demonstrate the strong leadership we need to move forward as a specialty in these uniquely challenging times.”

Fleishon has held numerous roles within the ACR, including vice chair, secretary-treasurer, Council speaker, vice chair of the Commission on Government Relations, and founder and former chair of the Radiology Advocacy Network (RAN). Fleishon is also division director of community radiology services in the Emory University Department of Radiology and Imaging Services in Atlanta, GA.

ACR Vice Chair Jacqueline A. Bello, MD, FACR previously served as chair of the ACR Commission on Quality and Safety. Bello is director of neuroradiology at Montefiore Medical Center and professor of radiology and neurosurgery at Albert Einstein College of Medicine in the Bronx, NY.

Additional ACR Officers

  • James V. Rawson, MD, FACR—Secretary-Treasurer
  • Richard Duszak Jr., MD, FACR—ACR Council Speaker
  • Amy L. Kotsenas, MD, FACR—ACR Vice Speaker

New/Re-elected Board of Chancellors

  • Andrew B. Rosenkrantz, MD—ACR Commission on Body Imaging
  • Gregory N. Nicola, MD, FACR—ACR Commission on Economics
  • Eric M. Rubin, MD—ACR Commission on Human Resources
  • Christoph Wald, MD, PhD, FACR—ACR Commission on Informatics
  • William T. Herrington, MD, FACR—ACR Commission on Membership and Communications
  • John E. Jordan, MD, FACR—ACR Commission on Neuroradiology
  • Don C. Yoo, MD, FACR—ACR Commission on Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging
  • Arun Krishnaraj, MD, MPH—ACR Commission on Patient- and Family-Centered Care
  • David B, Larson, MD, MBA—ACR Commission on Quality & Safety
  • Lauren P. Golding, MD—ACR Commission on Ultrasound
  • Andrew K. Moriarity, MD—ACR Young and Early Career Professional Section (YPS) Representative

Newly Elected Council Steering Committee Members

  • Rachel Gerson, MD
  • Richard B. Gunderman, MD, PhD, FACR
  • C. Matthew Hawkins, MD
  • Madelene C. Lewis, MD

Newly Elected College Nominating Committee Members

  • Roger L. Gonda Jr., MD, FACR
  • Elizabeth P. Maltin, MD, FACR
  • Ashley Prosper, MD

 # # #

About the American College of Radiology

The American College of Radiology® (ACR®), founded in 1924, is a professional medical society dedicated to serving patients and society by empowering radiology professionals to advance the practice, science and professions of radiological care.

To arrange an interview with an ACR member, please contact Shawn Farley or Meghan Swope at or call 703-648-8936.