AC 2016The ACR Appropriateness Criteria® (AC) are evidence-based guidelines to assist referring physicians and other providers in making the most appropriate imaging or treatment decision for a specific clinical condition. Employing these guidelines helps providers enhance quality of care and contribute to the most efficacious use of radiology. Learn More »

ACR Named a Qualified Provider-Led Entity by CMS
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has named ACR a “qualified Provider-Led Entity” (qPLE) approved to provide appropriate use criteria (AUC) under the Medicare Appropriate Use Criteria program for advanced diagnostic imaging. This means that medical providers can consult ACR Appropriateness Criteria to fulfill impending Protecting Access to Medicare Act (PAMA) requirements that they consult AUC prior to ordering advanced diagnostic imaging for Medicare patients. Read more »

Access the appropriateness criteria ratings tables and narratives

Best viewed in Firefox 15+, Chrome 15+, Internet Explorer 9+, and Safari 5+

May 2016 Update — The latest release of the ACR Appropriateness Criteria includes eight new and 15 revised topics covering a total of 215 clinical conditions.

New & Revised Appropriateness Criteria Topics

Use the buttons below to access the AC rating tables and narrative documents. "Basic Access" lists topics by panel and does not require login.

Log in for advanced access to the Appropriateness Criteria

  » Browse the list of AC topics and ratings tables

Browse the Appropriateness Criteria



» Search and filter AC topics and ratings tables
(login required)