Medical Student Travel Scholarship

The College is proud to offer travel scholarships to medical students enrolled in U.S. or Canadian approved programs in order to support attendance at the ACR annual meeting.

Ten scholarships have been awarded to allow medical students to travel to ACR 2021, the College’s annual meeting, in Washington, DC. Each scholarship covers lodging, travel, a stipend to cover meals (when meals are not provided at the meeting) and incidentals (refer to travel policy for complete details). Congratulations to this year's recipients!

Goal of scholarship:

  • Improve diversity and inclusion within radiology.
  • Improve the recognition and value of ACR membership.
  • Increase understanding of the impact of ACR research in expanding the purview of medical imaging, interventional radiology, and radiation oncology practice for the benefit of patients.
  • Increase understanding of the importance of radiology as a critical component of patient care.

Recipient requirements:

  • Awardees must register for ACR 2021 and attend pre-determined activities (Saturday and Sunday, to include the RFS program).
  • Awardees will participate in the meeting mentor program, complete pre- and post-conference surveys and provide a post-meeting write-up on their experience; content from the post-meeting write-ups may be used in ACR publications and marketing materials. 
  • Submit a W-9 form, comply with the ACR travel policy for this scholarship and submit copies of receipts.

How to apply:

The Travel Scholarship is open to medical students in a U.S. or Canadian approved program and who have an interest in becoming a diagnostic radiologist, interventional radiologist, radiation oncologist or nuclear medicine physician.

Application requirements include:

  • ACR Membership (medical students join free )
  • Students must be in their first, second, or third year of medical school, or in a research year, and not yet matched into a residency program.
  • Resume/curriculum vitae
  • Students may only receive the scholarship once.

The 2021 Travel Scholarship application will open Fall 2020.

Award Winners


  • Varun Danda — Sidney Kimmel Medical College, Thomas Jefferson University — Second Year
  • Candise Johnson — University of Mississippi Medical Center — Third Year
  • Kieran Lacey — Memorial University of Newfoundland and Labrador — Third Year
  • Victoria Linehan — Memorial University of Newfoundland — Third Year
  • Ryan Morrison — Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine — First Year
  • Vaidehi Patel — University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine — Second Year
  • Nikki Taylor — Wayne State University School of Medicine — Second Year
  • Angela Ubanwa — City University of New York School of Medicine — Research
  • Neha Udayakumar — University of Alabama School of Medicine — Third Year
  • Matthew Zhao — David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA — First Year