June 10, 2024

ACR 2024 YPS Annual Meeting Recap

Monica Wood, MD, Chair, ACR YPS Executive Committee

The ACR® Young and Early Career Professional Section (YPS) held its annual meeting during ACR 2024 on April 13, 2024, from 1–5pm, welcoming 104 members in person at the Washington Hilton and virtually.

Prior to the annual meeting, many YPS members accepted the invitation to participate in a virtual caucus on March 30, discussing resolutions for consideration by the ACR Council. The 2024 YPS Annual Meeting kicked off with the YPS Caucus Recap led by Monica Wood, MD, which provided an opportunity for members to hear a summary of caucus discussions and to continue conversations around specific issues with particular interest to the section.

Following the YPS Caucus Recap, Melissa Davis, MD, MBA, faculty of the Radiology Leadership Institute®, delivered an impactful presentation, Young Physician Challenges — Tips to Succeed, providing concrete and actionable advice to early-career physicians and empowering them for professional success.

In a session on advocacy organized by Natasha Monga, MD, members learned important operational fundamentals of the ACR Radiology Advocacy Network (RAN) and the political action committee for the American College of Radiology Association® (RADPAC®), receiving updates on recent successful campaigns. YPS members were encouraged to join as YPS RAN representatives from their state.

The session then pivoted to a panel led by trailblazing radiology advocates, Taj Kattapuram, MD; Christopher McAdams, MD; and Alex Podlaski, MD, who discussed practical strategies working with state legislators to successfully advocate and pass legislation affecting our patients and profession.

The final hour of the YPS Annual Meeting, organized by Ariadne DeSimone, MD, MPH, invited Andy Moriarity, MD, and Ashley Prosper, MD, to facilitate an engaging discussion on the current and predicted state of the radiology workforce. YPS members shared their experiences, highlighting any challenges within their departments and practices. Attendees also discussed various strategies, both successful and unsuccessful, implemented to tackle workforce-related problems.

The YPS represents more than 6,000 ACR members under the age of 40 or within eight years of the completion of training. The section extends warm thanks to outgoing executive committee members, Ozden Bulut, MD; Ivan DeQuesada II, MD; and Chelsea Miller, MD, for their outstanding service, and welcomes Aaron Bush, MD; Alyssa Cubbison, DO; Jacob Ormsby, MD, MBA; and Rebecca Scalabrino, DO, to their new roles on the committee.

The YPS Executive Committee invites interested members to send feedback, ideas and concerns to Dr. Wood, the 2024–2025 YPS Chair, through the Chapters and Sections Team Lead, Catherine Jones, at yps@acr.org.