Commission on Quality and Safety

The Commission on Quality and Safety provides oversight and management for all radiology quality and safety programs and initiatives of the ACR. These include Practice Parameters and Technical Standards, Appropriateness Criteria®, accreditation programs, centers of excellence, quality measurements, National Radiology Data Registry, RADPEER™ and Imaging-RADS.

Commission Goals

  • Promote quality in the practice of radiology, radiation oncology, interventional radiology, nuclear medicine and medical physics
  • Develop measures of quality for the practice of radiology
  • Develop studies to measure the impact of standards, accreditation and other ACR initiatives on the quality of patient care
  • Promote recognition and acceptance of the slogan QUALITY IS OUR IMAGE

Leadership & Staff

David B Larson, MD, MBA


Matthew S Davenport, MD

Vice Chair

Jennifer C Broder, MD

Vice Chair

Mythreyi Chatfield, PHD


Nicole Vega



Santanu Chakraborty, MBBS, DMRD, MSc Humaira Chaudhry, MD Joel Garland Fletcher, MD
Rachel Gerson, MD Marta Elise Heilbrun, MD, MS Nadja Kadom, MD
Stella K Kang, MD, MS Mark E Lockhart, MD MPH Mary S Newell, MD, FACR
Beth Ann Schueler, PhD, FACR Margaret M Szabunio, MD, FACR Alexander Justin Towbin, MD, FACR
Carolyn Lee Wang, MD Robert E Watson JR, MD Margarita Louise Zuley, MD, FACR