Commission on Economics

The Commission on Economics is ACR’s primary resource for medical socioeconomics. The Commission’s work often is used as background material and evidence for ACR congressional and state legislative efforts as well as communications with the CMS, policy makers, and other medical insurers.

Leadership & Staff

Ezequiel Silva III, MD, FACR


Mark O Bernardy, MD, FACR

Vice Chair

Angela Kim



Mark David Alson, MD, FACR Richard A Barth, MD, FACR John M Benson, MD, FACR
Robert Gary Berkenblit, MD, FACR William D Donovan, MD, MPH, FACR Catherine J Everett, MD, MBA, FACR
Howard B Fleishon, MD, MMM, FACR McKinley Glover IV, MD, MHS James H Goodwin, MS
Seth Millard Hardy, MD, MBA, FACR H Benjamin Harvey, MD C Matthew Hawkins, MD
Joshua A Hirsch, MD, FACR Richard Scott Hudes, MD, FACR Amy Briana Kirby, MD
David W Lee Najeeb Mohideen, MD, FACR Melody Mulaik
Gregory Neal Nicola, MD, FACR James Vincent Rawson, MD, FACR Kurt A Schoppe, MD
Dana H Smetherman, MD, FACR Rynzelle Spraggs Suzanne Taylor
Norman B Thomson III, MD, MBA, FACR Raymond King Tu, MD, FACR Anthony P Yudd, MD, PhD, FACR
Robert K Zeman, MD, FACR

Commission Goals

  • Collect, analyze, and disseminate information on all facets of economic issues relevant to the practice of radiology, interventional radiology, radiation oncology, nuclear medicine and medical physics
  • Focus activities on coding, payment policy, national and local coverage policy, regulation, private and public payer relations, and the development of educational resources for the membership
  • Prepare statements, studies and presentations on issues within commission purview, with the support of its committees and other specialty commissions, by acting on input from the membership and in reaction to changes affecting radiology


Economics Committee on Body Imaging - Amy Kirby MD, Chair
Economics Committee on Breast Imaging - Dana H. Smetherman, MD, FACR, Chair
Economics Committee on Coding & Nomenclature - Mark D. Alson, MD, FACR, Chair
Economics Committee on Economic and Advocacy Issues in Academic Radiology - Joshua A. Hirsch, MD, FACR, Chair
Economics Committee on Future Trends - Howard B. Fleishon, MD, MMM, FACR, Chair
Economics Committee on General, Small, Emergency, and Rural - Catherine J. Everett, MD, MBA, Chair
Economics Committee on HOPPS/APC - Norman B. Thomson III, MD, MBA, FACR, Chair
Economics Committee on Interventional & Cardiology - C. Matthew Hawkins, MD, Chair
Economics Committee on MACRA - Gregory N. Nicola, MD, FACR, Chair
Economics Committee on Managed Care - Robert G. Berkenblit, MD, FAC, Chair
Economics Committee on Medical Physics - James H. Goodwin, MS, Chair
Economics Committee on Neuroradiology - William D. Donovan, MD, MPH, FACR, Chair
Economics Committee on Nuclear Medicine - Anthony Yudd MD, PhD, FACR, Chair
Economics Committee on Pediatric Radiology - Richard Barth, MD, FACR, Chair
Economics Committee on Radiation Oncology - Najeeb Mohideen, MB, Chair
Economics Committee on Reimbursement - Kurt A. Schoppe, MD, Chair
Economics Committee on Ultrasound - John M. Benson MD, FACR, Chair

Carrier Advisory Committee (CAC) Network--Radiation Oncology - Richard Hudes, MD, FACR, Chair
Carrier Advisory Committee (CAC) Network--Radiology - Robert Zeman MD, FACR, Chair
Managed Care Network - Robert G. Berkenblit, MD, FACR, Chair
Medicaid Network - Raymond Tu MD, FACR, Chair
Radiology Integrated Care (RIC) Network - Seth M. Hardy, MD, Chair

Coding Source


Keep up-to-date on Medicare policies with our electronic coding publication for radiology coding and reimbursement news.

Read Latest Issue

Words from the Chair


Check out the monthly ACR Bulletin column from commission chair Zeke Silva, MD, FACR.

Read the Column