The ACR Appropriateness Criteria® (AC) are evidence-based guidelines to assist referring physicians and other providers in making the most appropriate imaging or treatment decision for a specific clinical condition. Employing these guidelines helps providers enhance quality of care and contribute to the most efficacious use of radiology. Learn More »

NEW! ACR Named a Qualified Provider-Led Entity by CMS
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has named ACR a “qualified Provider-Led Entity” (qPLE) approved to provide appropriate use criteria (AUC) under the Medicare Appropriate Use Criteria program for advanced diagnostic imaging. This means that ACR Appropriateness Criteria fulfill the Protecting Access to Medicare Act (PAMA) requirements to consult AUC prior to ordering advanced diagnostic imaging for Medicare patients. ACR qPLE status is valid through June 2021. Read more »

Updates – 2017

The latest release of the ACR Appropriateness Criteria includes 178 Diagnostic Imaging and Interventional Radiology topics with over 875 clinical variants. In 2017, there were 8 new and 12 revised topics. All DI/IR AC topics are reviewed annually.

New & Revised Appropriateness Criteria Topics


Current Topics

To access existing AC ratings tables and narratives use the buttons below.

Log in for advanced access to the Appropriateness Criteria

  » Browse for a complete list of topics and ratings tables organized by panel (login not required)

Browse the Appropriateness Criteria


» Search and filter topics and ratings tables (login required)