Chair: James V. Rawson, MD, FACR
Vice Chair: Giles W. Boland, MB, BS, FACR
Staff: Becky Haines & Meg Nealis

The Commission on Patient- and Family-Centered Care (CPFCC) works to ensure high-quality radiologic care is provided in a manner that incorporates the needs, wants, and values of our patients and communities and leads to improved health care satisfaction. The CPFCC works collaboratively within the College, particularly with the Informatics, Economics, and Quality and Safety Commissions, and outside the organization with patient-centered care organizations and professional medical societies for system-wide patient-centered outcomes.  The Commission promotes constructive relationships between radiologists, their patients, families, and communities to support radiology participation in emerging alternative payment models.

Commission Goals

The Commission will produce resources to help radiology professionals provide and document patient- and family-centered care, including:

  • Recommendations  and tools to help radiology practices engage with patients and families as healthcare partners and to forge closer relationships with communities
  • Resources to facilitate the use of technology to improve communications, education and flow of information to all stakeholders, including patients and clinical partners
  • Information regarding how best to measure quality and patient outcomes in radiology 
  • Tools, metrics, and policies created with other ACR commissions that help radiology practices incorporate patient- and family-centered care principles and meet Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) and alternative payment model requirements

Commission Members
Cheri Canon, MD, FACR
Matthew Cham, MD
Melissa Chen, MD
Tessa S. Cook, MD, PHD
Lynn A. Fordham, MD, FACR
C. Matthew Hawkins, MD
Arun Krishnaraj, MD, MPH
Ashima Lall, MBA, MD
Syed Zaidi, MD

Committee on Economics –PFCC - Giles W. Boland, MB, BS, FACR
Committee on Informatics – PFCC - Tessa S. Cook, MD, PHD
Committee on Outreach – PFCC - James V. Rawson, MD, FACR
Committee on Quality Experience – PFCC – C. Matthew Hawkins, MD
RSNA-ACR Public Information Web Site Committee - Geoffrey D. Rubin, MD, MBA, FACR