The Rhode Island Radiology Society was formed in 1964. The purpose of the RIRS is as follows:
Advancing the science of radiology, improving radiologic service to patients and the medical community, studying the economics of radiology, the encouragement of improved and continuing education for radiologists, and the establishment and maintenance of high medical and ethical standards in the practice of radiology.


2015 - Division A - ACR Chapter Recognition Award for Excellence in Government Relations, Award for Excellence in Membership
2004 - Division A - ACR Chapter Recognition Award for Excellence in Communications

Contact Information

RIRS Chapter Officers

  Michael Atalay, MD, PhD
 Vice President:
  David Swenson, MD
 Treasurer:   Robert Ward, MD
 Secretary:   Saurabh Agarwal, MD
 Fellowship Chair:
Peter Thomas Evangelista, MD, FACR
 Councilors:   Jason Iannuccilli, MD
    Terrance Healey, MD
  Gayle Pascetta

Mailing Address:
Rhode Island Radiological Society
Rhode Island Hospital
Attn: Gayle Pascetta
Department of Diagnostic Imaging
593 Eddy Street
Providence, Rhode Island 02903
(401) 444-5184 Main
(401) 444-5017 Fax

Learn More


Learn More