Visit the Alabama Academy of Radiology Homepage 

About The Chapter

The Alabama Academy of Radiology (AAR) is a statewide professional organization dedicated to improving the health of all patients and society. Our members are composed of diagnostic radiologists, radiation oncologists, nuclear radiologists and medical physicists practicing in the state of Alabama with a commitment to excellence in imaging and treatment.


Advancing the science of radiology, improving radiological service to patients and the medical community, actively supporting continuing education of our members, improving communications, studying the economics of radiology practice, and the establishment and maintenance of high medical and ethical standards in the practice of radiology.

The Alabama Academy of Radiology welcomes the opportunity and privilege to serve and we continually seek to be the very best organization achievable.


President: Therese M. Weber, MD, FACR 
President Elect: Douglas Steven Sutherland, MD, FACR
Secretary: Michael Frederick DeVenny, MD, FACR
Treasurer: Bryan I. Johnston, MD
Fellowship Chair: John Thomas Renz, MD, FACR
Membership Chair: Charles Hugh Holloway, MD, FACR 

Councilor: Michael Frederick DeVenny, MD
Councilor: Charles Hugh Holloway, MD, FACR 
Councilor:John Thomas Renz, MD, FACR
Councilor: Douglas Steven Sutherland, MD, FACR
Councilor: Therese M. Weber, MD, FACR

Alternate Councilor: Bryan I. Johnston, MD
Alternate Councilor: Mark LeQuire, MD
Alternate Councilor: Nina Terry, MD
Alternate Councilor: Jim Courtney, MD
Young Physician Alternate Councilor: Banks Petrey, MD


Bylaws Committee:  Nina Terry, MD
Fellowship Committee: John Renz, MD
Honors/Awards Committee: Mike DeVenny, MD
Legislative Committee: Mark LeQuire, MD
Nominating Committee: John Renz, MD
Membership Committee: Hugh Holloway, MD
Technologist Advisory Committee: Howard Holley, M.D.
Judicial Affairs Committee: John Renz, MD
Radiologic Practice Committee: Bibb Allen, Jr., M.D.
Education/CME Committee: Therese Weber, MD
Radiologists in Training: Ruth Snow, MD
Communications/Web:  John Renz, MD


Contact Information

Alabama Academy of Radiology
P.O. Box 1075
Wetumpka, AL 36092

Executive Secretary
Natalie Munroe
334-514-8407 Main
334-567-5962 Fax

Learn More


Becoming a Member of AAR