James M. Moorefield, MD, Fellowship in Economics & Health Policy

The James M. Moorefield, MD, Economics Fellowship, sponsored by the ACR Economics & Health Policy Department, provides radiology residents direct exposure to the College's economics activities.

The department is responsible for all ACR activities involving reimbursement and health policy issues that affect the practice of radiology, radiation oncology, interventional radiology and medical physics.

The two-week program is designed to better inform residents about reimbursement and medical policy issues, including development of new CPT codes, the valuation process, national and local Medicare coverage of radiology and radiation oncology procedures, and coverage by third-party payers and managed-care organizations. 

Applications are accepted from third-year and fourth-year residents and fellows. The application deadline is June 1, 2020.

How to Apply

At this moment due to COVID-19 we are holding off on accepting applications for 2020 - 2021. Please stay tuned for additional information in the future. Thank you for understanding and your patience as we get through this! 

For questions about this fellowship, please contact:

Rynzelle Spraggs
(800) 227-5463, ext. 4587

Responsibilities of the Fellow

The time of the two-week fellowship will be scheduled with the fellow and their program director to accommodate schedules. The fellow will receive a $500 stipend, with two-thirds paid when they arrive. The remainder will be paid once the fellow has completed his/her responsibilities. Travel and living expenses during the fellowship will be paid by the ACR.

Reading and writing tasks may be assigned to the fellow and the fellow may be asked when appropriate to assume work duties that will contribute to the department.

The fellow will be expected to complete an evaluation and write an article describing his/her experience for submission to the Journal of the American College of Radiology.

The fellow also may participate in experiences outside the ACR office to get exposure to other types of economic and health policy operations.

Fellow Selection

The ACR Economic Fellowship review committee will select a candidate and will notify applicants of the decision.

Past Fellows

2019 - Erin Taylor, MD
2019 - Ronald Mercer, MD
2018 - Emir S. Sandhu, MD
2018 - Cindy Yuan, MD
2017 - Michael Booker, MD
2017 - Magda Rizer, DO
2016 - Naiim Ali, MD
2016 - Andew J. Degnan, MD
2015 - Alexander B. King, MD
2015 - Colin Segovis, MD, PhD
2014 - Margaret Fleming, MD
2013 - Lukasz S. Babiarz, MD
2013 - Ashley K. Lotfipour, MD
2012 - Arvin Bagherpour, MD
2012 - Ammar Sarwar, MD
2011 - Kurt Schoppe, MD
2011 - Stephen Chang, MD
2010 - Sheela Agarwal, MD
2009 - Amy Kao, MD
2008 - Scott Harrison Ambruster, MD
2008 - Linda Chan, MD
2008 - Franklin Liu, MD
2007 - Charles Bowkley, MD
2007 - Dawn Hastreiter, MD
2007 - Adam Talenfield, MD
2006 - Bryan Berkey, MD
2006 - Joshua L. Rosenbrook, MD
2006 - Michael H. Wittner, MD
2005 - W. Shawn Conwell, MD
2005 - Jonathan Paul Gordon, MD
2005 - Felix Lee Lin, MD
2004 - Alexandru C. Bageac, MD
2004 - Jeremy L. Friese, MD
2004 - Ryan K. Lee, MD
2003 - Sanjay K. Shetty, MD
2003 - Timothy A. Crummy, MD