October 31, 2019

American College of Radiology Selects 2020 Gold Medalists and Honorary Fellows

Recipients to be recognized at the ACR 2020 Annual Meeting

The American College of Radiology® (ACR®) Board of Chancellors (BOC) named three Gold Medalists and two Honorary Fellowship recipients for their contributions to the practice of radiology and outstanding service to the College.

Honorees will be recognized during the ACR 2020 Annual Meeting, to be held May 16–20, 2020, at the Marriott Wardman Park Hotel in Washington, DC.

The following individuals will receive the ACR Gold Medal:

  • Albert Blumberg, MD, FACR, is a radiation oncologist who has previously served as ACR president & chair of the Commission on Radiation Oncology, council speaker, BOC member and president of the Maryland Radiological Society.
  • Priscilla (Penny) Butler, MS, FACR, a nationally recognized medical physicist who played an instrumental role in the development of the Mammography Quality Standards Act (MQSA). Additionally, Butler’s extensive work with the FDA and on the development of MQSA led to the prototype of ACR Accreditation and, to this day, ensures high quality mammography.
  • David Kushner, MD, FACR, former ACR president and chair of the Commission on Membership and Communication, received the ACR Gold Medal in 2019 and will be accepting his Gold Medal in 2020.

The following recipients will receive Honorary Fellowships:

  • David Lee Ball, MB, BS, MD, FRANZCR, is a radiation oncologist from Melbourne, Australia. He is recognized as a pioneer in using PET scanning to design treatment protocols for lung cancer, and his work has resulted in international adoption of the “Tumor/Node/Metastasis” (TNM) staging classification of chest tumors.
  • Luis Marti Bonmati, MD, is a diagnostic radiologist from Valencia, Spain. Serving as the chair of the Research Committee of the European Society of Radiology and editor-in-chief of Insights into Imaging, Bonmati is a pioneer in MRI imaging, informatics and biomarkers.

For more information about this year’s honorees, visit acr.org.

To arrange an interview with any ACR member, contact Meghan Swope at 703-390-9822 or email PR@acr.org.


About the American College of Radiology
The American College of Radiology is a membership organization of nearly 40,000 radiologists, radiation oncologists and medical physicists dedicated to serving patients and society by empowering radiology professionals to advance the practice, science and professions of radiological care.