H.R. 2, the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 (MACRA) was signed into law on April 16, 2015. This legislation permanently repeals the sustainable growth rate (SGR) formula and replaces Medicare’s multiple quality reporting programs with a new single Merit-Based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) program and rewards physicians for participating in new payment and delivery models to improve the efficiency of care while preserving fee-for-service as an option.