October 21, 2016

ACR Expert Selected for CMS Quality Measurement Development Panel

David J. Seidenwurm, MD, FACR, chair of the American College of Radiology Quality Metrics Committee, has been selected to participate in the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Technical Expert Panel for the Quality Measure Development Plan.

Seidenwurm and the other members of the panel will immediately begin reviewing the CMS MIPS and APMs Measurement Development Plan released in May 2016. The Panel is schedule to hold its first in-person meeting in mid-November.

Seidenwurm is a member of the ACR Quality Management Committee, ACR Economics Committee on MACRA and ACR Neuroradiology Commission. He is also the ACR representative to the National Quality Forum and the NQF-convened Measures Application Partnership that provides input to CMS on measures to be used in their quality programs.

Seidenwurm chairs the Quality Committee for Sutter Medical Group in the Sacramento area. He is also medical director, System Radiology Quality and Safety, for the Sutter Medical Group.

Seidenwurm is co-chair of the Physician Consortium for Performance Improvement (PCPI®) performance measure workgroups on Stroke/Stroke Rehabilitation, Radiology and Optimizing Radiation Dose. In these positions he has helped develop, test and implement radiology performance measures that are used in various Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services quality programs.