May 28, 2020

Dr. Mary H. Scanlon Honored as ACR Advocate of the Year

Dr. Mary H. Scanlon is joined by a few fellow #radvocates at the 2019
RADPAC Gala in Washington, D.C.

Advocacy is one of the core functions of the American College of Radiology® (ACR ®). Created by Howard Fleishon, MD, FACR, in 2012, the ACR Radiology Advocacy Network (RAN) is focused on improving advocacy within our membership. Since its inception, the ACR RAN has grown into a vital and expanding national grassroots network of advocates who help develop, lead and support successful legislative, regulatory and policy efforts for us and for our patients at both state and federal levels.

The ACR RAN recognizes one individual each year who personifies advocacy in a way that serves as an example to all of us. Mary H. Scanlon, MD, FACR, has been chosen to receive this year’s ACR Advocate of the Year Award.

Dr. Scanlon is a professor of clinical radiology at the University of Pennsylvania where she serves as vice chair of education and residency program director for the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania.

Like many in the ACR, she has been a staunch and continuous supporter of advocacy at both state and federal levels for many years. Through her responsibilities guiding and interacting with radiology residents, she has magnified her advocacy by serving as a tremendous advocate for radiology residents, encouraging their participation in the ACR and supporting their engagement in ACR advocacy efforts. Dr. Scanlon’s dedication to her residents is evident to all who know her, but most of all to the residents who were privileged enough to have her as their program director.

“As I have learned in my tenure as ACR RAN chair, the positive impact of our younger members-in-training is difficult to overstate. Dedicated support of our young radiologists and radiologists-in-training is a vital ingredient for our continued success. It is with great pleasure that we recognize Dr. Mary Scanlon as our 2020 ACR Advocate of the Year,” said David Youmans, MD, FACR.