May 12, 2017

ACR Members Appointed to CMS MACRA Subcommittees

On May 2, eight members of the American College of Radiology (ACR) were chosen to serve on Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA) Episode-Based Cost Measures Clinical Subcommittees, a potentially influential set of advisory groups that will help develop episode-based cost measures that will be used in Medicare’s Quality Payment Program (QPP) Cost Performance Category.

In response to the College’s nominations, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) appointed the following ACR members to serve on subcommittees in six clinical areas.

  • Bibb Allen Jr., MD, FACR — Pulmonary Disease Management
  • Jeremy Collins, MD — Cardiovascular Disease Management
  • Matthew Heller, MD — Gastrointestinal Disease Management
  • Joshua Hirsch, MD, FACR — Neuropsychiatric Disease Management
  • Jacobo Kirsch, MD — Cardiovascular Disease Management
  • Gregory Nicola, MD — Neuropsychiatric Disease Management
  • Ezequiel Silva, MD, FACR — Peripheral Vascular Disease Management
  • Daniel Wessell, MD, PhD — Musculoskeletal Disease Management

CMS previously convened a clinical committee comprised of more than 70 clinical experts from over 50 professional societies that collaborated from August to September 2016.Three ACR members were involved with that process. The committee provided input on identifying a candidate list of episode groups for development and determined the billing codes that trigger each episode group. 

The newly appointed clinical subcommittees will build on that work. Each will focus on a set of procedural and acute inpatient medical episode groups that are relevant to a specific clinical area to refine episode triggers and recommend which services should be included in episode group costs.