April 12, 2018

Breast Density Mandates Spread State to State

Three more states have had bills requiring breast density reporting adopted by their legislatures and signed into law in 2018. Wisconsin’s mandate was effective on April 5, Florida’s law will take effect on July 1, and Washington’s requirements will be implemented on January 1, 2019.

A bill (SB 2704) to modify an existing breast density reporting statute in Tennessee awaits the signature of Gov. Bill Haslam. California will hold a hearing on the proposal to extend the sunset deadline of its existing breast density reporting statute on April 25, and a breast density reporting bill is pending legislative passage in Illinois. North Dakota allowed its statute to sunset in 2017

As of April 2018, 35 states were enforcing statutes on breast density reporting/disclosure. They are Alabama, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Iowa, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Carolina, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington State and Wisconsin, with voluntary compliance enforced in Maine.

State Insurance Coverage Mandates

States with digital breast tomosynthesis insurance coverage mandates now include Arizona, Connecticut, Illinois, Kentucky, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Texas and Washington State.

A bill signed into law by Gov. Jay Inslee in Washington State directs the Office of the Insurance Commissioner and the State Health Care Authority to clarify that the existing mandates for mammography include coverage for tomosynthesis under the same terms and conditions currently allowed for mammography (effective January 1, 2019).