April 14, 2017

Dr James Rawson to Receive Thorwarth Award

The American College of Radiology (ACR) Economics and Health Policy Department has selected James V. Rawson, MD, FACR, as the 2017 recipient of the William T. Thorwarth Jr., MD, Award for his remarkable service to the College.

The Thorwarth Award will be bestowed on Rawson May 22 during ceremonies at ACR 2017 — The Crossroads of Radiology® (May 21–25) in Washington D.C.

Rawson is a practicing radiologist in Augusta, GA, in addition to serving as radiology department chair at the Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University. He is a member of the Commission on Economics and the Radiology Integrated Care Network and participates formally and informally in promoting social media for the ACR as an educational and communications tool for radiologists.

Rawson’s past economic positions include works as chair and member of the Hospital Prospective Payment System, member of the Value-Added Subcommittee, chair of the Economic Issues in Academic Radiology and member of the Accountable Care Committee. He also is a member of the ACR Board of Chancellors, serving as chair of the ACR Commission on Patient- and Family-Centered Care.

In comments, Ezequiel Silva, MD, FACR, chair of the ACR Commission on Economics, applauded Rawson's work with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and Hospital Outpatient Prospective Payment System (HOPPS).

“The collaboration Jim fostered with CMS through his leadership on the HOPPS is a model for the rest of our profession,” he noted.

The William T. Thorwarth Jr., MD, Award was established in 2004 by the ACR Commission on Economics to honor members or staff who show excellence in the field of economics and health policy by way of leadership, diplomacy and integrity. It is not an annual award, but is given on a merit basis to outstanding individuals who deserve recognition for their efforts relating to economics and health policy.