On May 12, 2004 following the economics update at the Annual Meeting and Chapter Leadership Conference, a newly created award was presented to immediate past ACR president and active member William T. Thorwarth, Jr, MD. The award, created in Thorwarth’s honor, was developed by the Commission on Economics to honor members or staff that show excellence in the field of economics and health policy by way of leadership, diplomacy and integrity.

Presenting the award were James P. Borgstede, MD, chair of the Board of Chancellors; John A. Patti, MD, chair of the Commission on Economics; and Pam Kassing, senior director of the Economics and Health Policy Department. They thanked him for his many years of service to the College and especially for his leadership and dedication during his six-year term as chair of the Commission on Economics. A truly surprised and honored Thorwarth in turn thanked the ACR staff and commission members for their efforts and support.

Thorwarth is a fellow of the ACR, a member of the Board of Chancellors, and past chair of the Committee on Coding and Nomenclature, as well as a member of the AMA’s CPT® Editorial Panel. Thorwarth is a recognized expert in the field of coding, nomenclature and the relative value scale, and he recently received the Silver Medal Award from the North Carolina Radiological Society for extraordinary service to the chapter.

The William T. Thorwarth, Jr, MD, award will not be an annual award, but rather given on a merit basis to outstanding individuals deserving recognition in the field of economics and health policy. A review committee will be established to consider future candidates.

Recipients of the William T. Thorwarth, Jr, MD Award:

2004: William T. Thorwarth, Jr., MD, FACR
2006: Gordon S. Perlmutter, MD, FACR
2007: James P. Borgstede, MD, FACR
2008: Pamela J. Kassing, RCC
2009: John A. Patti, MD, FACR
2010: Diane Marie Hayek, BA, RCC
2012: Bibb Allen, Jr., MD, FACR
2013: Richard Duszak, Jr., MD, FACR
2014: James M. Moorefield, MD, FACR